Skip links

February Employee of the Month: Caitlin Palmer

Nothing is more pleasing for an employer than seeing a new member slot effortlessly into a team, so that it feels like they’ve always been there after a few short weeks. That’s certainly the way we felt about Caitlin Palmer, this month’s Employee of the Month! Caitlin emigrated from the UK and started a new life as well as a new job all at once, but she has taken it completely in her stride and after just 18 months, is a part of the furniture here at Belroc. We caught up with Caitlin for a quick chat to celebrate her win:

Hi Caitlin! Congratulations on being awarded Employee of the Month! How does it feel?

Thank you! It feels very good to be crowned employee of the month. I feel I work hard in my role and to be rewarded for that is great. I would also like to give thanks for all the thoughtful comments left by my peers, I love coming to work every day and getting to work with them all!

Tell us a little about your Belroc journey so far?

I came to Belroc in the summer of 2018 after moving to Canada with my partner, who had just finished his two-year visa in the UK, where I’m from. I started out as project administrator which was mostly admin-based – document submittals and preparing purchase orders and invoices. I was recently promoted to project coordinator, which means I’m much more involved in day-to-day coordination of projects including scheduling installations and site deliveries and preparing shop drawings.

What’s your favorite thing about your job?

My favourite thing is the wide variety of projects I get to be a part of. I can be working on a smaller jobs with just one item all the way up to bigger projects with multiple scopes of work – it keeps the job interesting.

What’s the most challenging thing?

I would say that balancing multiple different tasks and prioritizing what is most important can be difficult! I’m often involved in up to 60 different projects at one time so my inbox gets crazy if I don’t stay on top of it. I have to be able to think on my feet and adapt if a planned schedule changes at short notice. Having a ‘can-do’ attitude really helps!

What’s your life like away from work?

I live in Kingston with my fiancé, Paolo. Our home life usually consists of us playing video games or watching Netflix. We both work and we are currently planning a wedding for 2021 so that takes up most of our free time at the moment!

Tell us an interesting fact about yourself:

I speak some Spanish after studying it at university for a year.